receive updates newsletter signup

program leadership


cathy scott, President

Cathy Scott brings a rich background in fund development and educational advancement to her role as the fourth president of Bible in the Schools.

Cathy has served as a corporate sales consultant with the Maclellan Foundation, a professional grant writer and educational advancement consultant, the Director of Development at an independent private school, and in teaching roles at faith-based, public, and private school systems.

Cathy is a graduate of Covenant College and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education and a Master's of Education with a specialization in Leadership from the Covenant College Graduate School of Education. Cathy brings 18 years of experience working with schools. She is a certified and licensed educator in both the State of Tennessee and Georgia and holds an All Levels Principal certification with ACSI.

A native of South Africa, she grew up in a family and home in which leadership, organizational management, and integrity were modeled for her by her parents. Her father, Dr. Michael Cassidy, is one of South Africa’s most highly respected leaders and founders of an interracial interdenominational global partnership organization.


Community Engagement Director



Administrative & Development Assistant



Project Manager & Donor Care



Media Specialist

board of directors, 2019-2020

Mr. Chris Maclellan - Chairman
Vice Chairman, The Maclellan Foundation

Dr. Gary Phillips - Vice Chairman
Senior Pastor, Signal Mountain Bible Church

Mr. Ben Pitts - Secretary
Agent/Broker, Herman Walldorf Commercial Real Estate

Mr. Bart Rolen - Treasurer
Chief Executive Officer, Southeastern Trust Company

Mrs. Harriet Bond 
Former Bible Teacher and High School Guidance Counselor

Mr. Marshall Brock
Wealth Counselor, Keel Point

Mrs. Betsy Brown
President, Pendleton Square Trust Company

Mr. Douglas Brown 
Financial Advisor, Senior Vice President, UBS Wealth Management

Mr. Thomas Clark 
President, Yama Development

Mrs. Mary Coleman
Retired, IBM Corporation

Mr. Derrick DePriest
Director, Customer Experience, Bellhops

Mr. Jay Everett
Director, Renew Ministries, Calvary Chapel Chattanooga

Mr. Franklin Farrow
Chief Executive Officer, Independent Healthcare Properties

Mr. Steve Frost
President, Tuftco Corp.

Mr. Tom Glenn
President, Elder's ACE Hardware of Chattanooga

Mr. Mike Harrell 
Owner, Latitude Advisors, LLC

Mrs. Jill C. Hartness 
President, Boyd Buchanan School

Mrs. Patsy Hazlewood
Member, Tennessee House of Representatives, District 27

Mr. John Henegar
Principal, West Ridge Group PLLC Certified Public Accountants

Mr. Joey Hogan
President, Covenant Transportation Group

Mrs. Lisa Hutcherson
Wife, Mother, Homemaker

Mr. Rob Huffaker
Practice Leader of Employee Benefits, McGriff Insurance Services

Dr. Ternae Jordan, Sr.
Senior Pastor, Mount Canaan Baptist Church

Mr. Mike Kramer
Chairman, Southeastern Trust Company

Mr. Bob Marshall
Chief Financial Officer, Southern Champion Tray

Mr. Tom McCallie
Retired, Executive Director, The Robert L. & Kathrina H. Maclellan Foundation

Mr. Herbert "Book" McCray 
Former Principal, Hamilton County Department of Education, Founder/CEO, Independent Youth Services Foundation, Inc.

Mr. Ralph Mohney
Former President, Bible in the Schools

Mr. Miguel A. Morales, Jr.

Mr. Don Morton 
Attorney, Miller & Martin PLLC

Mr. Greg Pawson
President, Signal Energy Constructors

Mr. John Phillips
Retired, Vice President Marketing & Sales, McKee Foods

Minister Felicia Pierce
Human Resources Consultant/Business Partner, CHI Memorial

Mr. Jasper Reynolds III
Principal, Lift Media Group

Mrs. Cathy Scott
President, Bible in the Schools

Mr. Britton Stansell
Regional Director, Republic Parking System

Mrs. Eleonore Williams 
Retired, CPA, Mauldin & Jenkins

Mr. Bruce Zeiser
Executive Vice President, Southern Champion Tray

Board of Reference, 2019-2020

Mr. Pete Austin III
President, Austin Building Corporation

Dr. James Barber
President, The Generosity Trust

The Honorable William "Mueke" Barker
Retired, Chief Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court

Dr. Frank Brock
Director, Brow Wood

Mayor Jim Coppinger
Hamilton County Mayor

The Honorable Bob Corker
Former United States Senator for Tennessee; Former Chair of United State Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Mr. Doug Daugherty, Sr.
President, Hamilton Flourishing

Mr. David Fowler
President, Family Action Council of Tennessee

Mr. John Guerry

Mr. Henry Henegar

Mr. Lurone Jennings
Administrator, Chattanooga's Department of Youth and Family

The Honorable Ron Littlefield
Former Mayor of Chattanooga

Mr. Hugh Maclellan, Jr.
Chairman Emeritus, The Maclellan Foundation

Dr. Ron Phillips, Sr.
Senior Pastor, Abba's House

Mr. David Worland
Executive Director, The Governor's Office of Faith Based and Community Initiatives, State of Tennessee

Mr. Charles "Chuck" Zeiser
Former President and CEO, Southern Champion Tray; Current Chairman of the Board, Southern Champion Tray


Dr. J. P. McCallie
1922 - 1970

Mr. Hugh O. Maclellan, Sr.
1970 - 1994

Mr. Thomas H. McCallie III
1994 - 2003

Mr. L. B. Austin III 
2003 - 2010

Dr. Frank Brock
2010 - 2012

Mr. Steve Frost
2012 - 2015

Mr. Bob Marshall
2015 - 2017

Mr. Chris Maclellan
2017 - Present